sometimes I pray

Our God,

Sometimes I pray because I believe.
Sometimes I pray,
and it’s not a matter of belief,
it’s just I don’t know what else to do.

Sometimes I pray angry
as if I could tear heaven open;
sometimes I pray gratefully aware
that You have already torn heaven open.

Sometimes I pray, “Change this now!”
Sometimes I pray, “Let this go on forever!”

Sometimes I pray for what to do
when I already know;
sometimes I pray for what I think I know
not to determine what I do.

Sometimes I pray a hope so big
it scares me to think it might not happen.;
sometimes I pray a hope so little,
it scares me to think I don’t hope for enough.

Sometimes I pray;

sometimes though, I can’t pray or believe,
and trust others to believe and pray for me.

So remind us, God—
remind us regularly:
we never pray just for ourselves.
We pray always and also for those who can’t.

And when it’s we who can’t,
others do.

That’s just the way it works in Jesus’ name.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

