embarrassing the dog

Walking to work the other day,
I let out a shriek.
Wasn’t planned.
Just wanted to get the dog’s attention.
And see how she would react to a different sound.

Well, she stalked out ahead of me to strain against
the farthest possible extension of the leash,
cast a quick sideways glance back over her shoulder at me
and looked for all the world like my daughters do
when I embarrass them!

So, of course, I did it again!

It’s a peculiar (my daughters will tell you)
expression of love.
All the more real (I would say)
for the peculiarity!

Leave a Reply

