context and perspective

I spoke at a chapel service
at the school
where my wife serves as chaplain.
She introduced me,
and I got up to speak.
I prefaced my remarks
by saying it was a privilege to be with them,
that I held their chaplain in such high regard,
and thought she was really cute too.
One girl who had come in a little late
leaned over to her friend and said indignantly,
“And she’s married.”
To which her friend responded,
“Yeah, to him!”

Sometimes,
it’s so very clear what context brings to perspective,
and sometimes,
it’s even fun to have it pointed out.

Not most of the times.

Leave a Reply

