tripped up

I walk to work more often than not.
The other day,
I stepped off the sidewalk
to walk past a couple with strollers coming toward me
and found myself lying partly in the grass, partly on the sidewalk.

There was a wooden peg protruding just a little bit through the grass
that had caught my forward swinging foot
before it had gained enough clearance
and far enough back in my stride
that I was propelled face forward to the ground.

If you’re caught at the very moment
when your momentum is headed one way
but your weight is shifting and you’re not balanced,
the smallest obstacle will trip you up.

This is most easily recognized physically
(as a matter of physics),
but more importantly, emotionally and spiritually,
intellectually and relationally,
with consequences far more …
consequential
than bruises, scrapes, and stains.

Leave a Reply

