Lenten mish-mash midrash, iii.

We continue to explore Lenten mishmash-midrash
looking at psalms that seem to make promises
and offer assurances we do not see fulfilled
in the life of Jesus … not in the way you might expect.

This is based on the lectionary psalm
for the third Sunday of Lent: Psalm 63:1-8.

O God, you are my God, I seek you, my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
as in a dry and weary land where there is no water (Psalm 63:1).

“I thirst” (John 19:28b).

So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
my lips will praise you (Psalm 63:2-3).

“… not my will but yours …” (Matthew 26:39b).

So I will bless you as long as I live;
I will lift up my hands and call on your name (Psalm 63:4).

“Eloi, Eloi … My God, my God …” (Mark 15:34b).

My soul is satisfied as with a rich feast,
and my mouth praises you with joyful lips
when I think of you on my bed,
and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
for you have been my help,
and in the shadow of your wings I sing for joy (Psalm 63:5-7).

“Into your hands I commend my spirit …” (Luke 23:46).

My soul clings to you;
your right hand upholds me (Psalm 63:8).

May it be so.

Leave a Reply

