come together, right now

“‘The times are bad! The times are troublesome!’
This is what humans say. But we are our times.
Let us live well and our times will be good.
Such as we are, such are our times.”
This according to St. Augustine of Hippo.

I liked Mr. of Hippo’s quote the first time I read it.

Didn’t the second.

The times define too much for too many.
It’s why that Justin Bieber song I can’t always avoid offends me.
He sings “as long as you love me, we could be starving
we could be homeless, we could be broke …” as only someone
who’s not starving, homeless, or broke could sing.
Bad times—hard times define too much for too many.

The third time through though, it struck me.
It doesn’t read I am my times….
Such as I am, such is my time.

The plurality of community
justifies the affirmation.
Together, it can be true.

Leave a Reply

