amused

Crossed one of the busy streets of Kennebunkport
in front of a couple in a red convertible who stopped to let me by.
I nodded my thanks
and commented, “Nice car.”
They ignored me.
As I glanced back, initially somewhat puzzled,
I saw the Austin-Healey insignia.
“Oh,” I thought to myself, then amused,
too nice a car to compliment as a nice car!”
Later, amusement was replaced with some irritation,
though upon reflection,
it pleases me
that the only reaction they could possibly have picked up on
was amusement.

Leave a Reply

