go with your instincts … right?

I’m cutting me some slack.
All the feeling bad about that short-sighted
focus on immediate gratification stuff.

Some of it’s just primal instinct.

You see, I’ve noticed
that driving in my car
with a cup of coffee,
if that coffee sloshes,
I’m more preoccupied
with making sure it doesn’t spill on me
than with steering the car!

So our preoccupation with the immediate
overrides common sense and any sense of proportion.
But I’m going to cut me some slack,
and prioritize that primal instinct
instead of figuring out how to cultivate the discipline
to appropriately prioritize.

After all, if I die,
I don’t want it to be with coffee all over my clothes.

Leave a Reply

