collateral damage

Got a call the other day requesting prayer
for a family whose four-year-old
had found a handgun in the house and shot himself.

Collateral damage of the way we choose to interpret the Second Amendment.
And whether I would choose that interpretation really doesn’t matter.
Whether or not I own a gun,
whether or not, I adhere to gun safety rules,
I am a part of the culture that accepts the way things are,
and so the collateral damage is on me as part of the system—
including this one particular four-year-old with a gunshot wound.

My prayer is not just intercessory,
but confessional.

Leave a Reply

