did you mean what I just heard you say?

A mother had two stories for me the other day
that made that day and several since!
She told me about how her five-year-old son had told her,
“I love the titty scenes at church!”
“What?!” she/I said.
It took her a few minutes to understand
and she left me gasping a moment before explaining,
he was commenting on how much he liked
the nativity scenes we had set up around the church!

Ben Folds has a song, the chorus of which goes:
“You know what hope is? Hope is a bastard.
Hope is a liar, a cheat and tease.
Hope comes near you, kick it’s backside.
Got no place in days like these.”
— Ben Folds, Picture Window Scenes
An honest song about someone going into the hospital Christmas Eve.
The mom was enjoying this song immensely,
but she didn’t think about her five-year-old hearing it.
Until they came to church one Sunday morning,
and he commented,
“I have to tell Pastor John that hope is a pastor!”

Leave a Reply

